Hammering Out a Second Edition part 6

A gritty dark fantasy. GLBTQ elements.
A gritty dark fantasy with dark romantic elements.

A few days ago, I got awesome feedback on the entire first edition of Through Rain and Missing Mantaurs (TRAMM) from one of my (new) critique partners. This is something I never was able to achieve all those years ago.

So, I’m about fourteen chapters into my first round of edits for this second edition. I’ve decided to rewind and skim over the content, because of this wonderful feedback. This is to see if anything needs to be marked for a discrepancy. I’m not cutting anything out of this first round of edits just yet because things might change by the time I get to the end.

I’m also resetting my counter if you’ve been watching that in the side bar. 33K back down to 12K. I don’t consider this a step back, because I’ll catch up pretty quickly. I just want to make sure this first run-through contains the same vibe, or mindset throughout the story. It will make the next drafts easier and quicker if I get most of the bumps out as early as possible.

What have I been doing? Romantic elements have been ramped up. Mardyth’s character is fleshed out a bit, but still mysterious and questionable in his motives.

I am wrestling with the old, additional content I cut from the first edition. Much of it explains plot, or gives better insight into minor characters. Yet, I’m unsure if it should be returned to the manuscript at this time, because there is a chance I may be juggling or omitting minor characters. We’ll find out soon. While I’m not obsessing on word count like I was in the past, I don’t think I want this to turn into an unweildly beast. I’m trying not to let myself worry about, or check total word count until I actually get done ironing out this first go-around.

Because of my backtracking, there will not be a new chapter released this week. Instead, here is some background information about the main character. As you can see, I can’t really drop many details or it would spoil the series.

Character Introduction

Name: Horsemeat
Known aliases: Pony, Pony Girl
Affiliation: The realm (country) of Nura (A dark fantasy universe).
Birth name: Unknown
Date of Birth: Unknown
Place of Birth: Unknown
Age: 20
Gender: Female
Race: Centaur/human
Body/Shape: A human’s body. Thin with wide hips. (A runner’s frame).
Height: The average height of a human man.
Other Physical Traits: A light coat of brown horsehair from mid-thighs to ankles. Scar tissue takes up most of her mid-lower back. A centaur’s tail grows from her lower back. The tail is kept hidden by braiding it and wrapping it around her waist like a belt. Her toenails are also thicker, and striped like a horse’s hooves. Her centaur’s crest is often concealed within a topknot.
Eye Color: Brown
Hair Color: Brown
Hairstyle: Long and straight (with a centaur’s crest).
Languages: Nuran
Clothing Style: Whatever can be used, found, scavenged, or borrowed.
Occupation: Mail courier
Enemies: Just about everyone
Allies: Nicholas Holly
Father: Unknown
Mother: Unknown
Siblings: Unknown
Lover/First Love: Mardyth
Marital Status: Single
Children: None

Leave a Reply

